Yellow Brick Road

Okay, so I think I just received my Very Last Rejection Letter. Yay?

After loving the self-publishing experience and results of Why You Were Taken, I decided a couple of months ago to go the indie author route with all my future books, but before that, I submitted my (much rejected) infertility memoir manuscript, The Underachieving Ovary, to one last publisher who I thought would be a good match.

I’ve never been happier to get a rejection. I laughed out loud. Especially at the part where the reader found the work “too cheery and upbeat” after my dream agent in the UK found the identical manuscript too dark and “alienating in its intensity”.

Sometimes the way forward is obscure. In my case, the path is as clear as a shiny yellow brick road. And it certainly doesn’t involve traditional publishers.

Leave a Reply

