Self-publishing from Scratch

SELF-PUBLISHING

I’m no expert at self-publishing. It was never part of my writing dream, until all of a sudden it was, and now I can’t imagine why I didn’t start sooner.

I’m what you call a hybrid author: I’m traditionally and independently published. When I started the self-publishing process last year with ‘Why You Were Taken’ I had very little knowledge and even less experience. I approached it as a complete hack, making it up as I went along, and damn, it was fun. The book also sold double that of my traditionally published book. Maybe it was a better book, or maybe, now that we are living in the future, self-publishing should should be seen as the better option, instead of the last resort.

I’m still hacking my way through this indie press thing, but now I’m amped about it, and have decided to learn as much as I can about the process and the business, as quickly as I can. I’m addicted to the podcasts and blogposts of successful indie authors. I gobble them up like toasted hot cross buns and tea. After countless rejection slips from the ivory towers, I feel like I’ve finally found my tribe.

Interested in this steep learning curve? I’ll share all the tips and tricks I come across, here.

Tip #1: Write the Damn Book

Tip #2: Don’t Worry About Marketing (Yet)

Tip #3: You Need an Editor

Tip #4: Follow a Pro

Tip #5: Your Cover is Your Most Important Marketing Tool

Tip #6: Mastering the Countdown

(to be continued)

One thought on “Self-publishing from Scratch

Leave a Reply

