What I’m Reading: This is the Story of a Happy Marriage

12657904_10153197695581666_2030616207046903226_o

TITLE | This is the Story of a Happy Marriage

AUTHOR | Ann Patchett

STAR RATING | 4

ABOUT | A vibrant and moving portrait of love, friendship, work, and the writing life.

WHAT I LOVED ABOUT IT | I found her observations on writing as a profession at once consoling and encouraging.

WHAT I DIDN’T LOVE ABOUT IT | I would have liked more essays on her writing philosophy and process, but that’s just me.

WHO I’D RECOMMEND IT TO | Anyone who appreciates a witty, elegant collection of personal essays.

FAVOURITE QUOTE |

“The tricky thing about being a writer, or about being any kind of artist, is that in addition to making art you also have to make a living. My short stories and novels have always filled my life with meaning, but, at least in the first decade of my career, they were no more capable of supporting me than my dog was. But part of what I love about both novels and dogs is that they are so beautifully oblivious to economic concerns. We serve them, and in return they thrive. It isn’t their responsibility to figure out where the rent is coming from.”

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: This is the Story of a Happy Marriage

  1. I love the quotation you picked. It is such a dry observation of the everyday reality of art versus life. I would not have thought to pick up the book because, like most people, I make assumptions. II would have thought it was strictly about relationships.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree — while I like the title I wouldn’t have picked it up if it wasn’t Ann Patchett — and while it does examine relationships: those between her and her husband, her late friend, and (especially) her dog, it’s certainly not what the book revolves around.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

