What I’m Reading: Magic for Beginners

11060869_10152784248046666_1105351820068339166_n

TITLE | Magic For Beginners

AUTHOR | Kelly Link

STAR RATING | 5

ABOUT | In the publisher’s words: ‘An exquisite, dreamlike dispatch from a virtuoso storyteller’; In my words: Surreal short stories that are blackly funny, and that keep surprising you. Inventive and compelling.

WHAT I LOVED ABOUT IT | Everything. This is what Tom Spanbauer calls ‘dangerous writing.’ Also: the illustrations by Shelley Jackson.

WHAT I DIDN’T LOVE ABOUT IT | That it ended.

WHO I’D RECOMMEND IT TO | Anyone who enjoys their fiction a little left of centre.

FAVOURITE QUOTE | [From the story THE CANNON]  “I once fornicated with a married woman inside the Sweet Mouth. She was agoraphobic. I said I was agnostic. I said, “Yes, like that […]” and she said, “How do you like this?” and “Watch your head,” and while we were fucking, her husband came up and lit a match, and then we were flying. We sailed out like a grappling shot. I held onto her hips and the tails of her hair and fucked her as we passed over the countryside, and she wrapped her legs around my waist and she fucked me back. When we were finished, we flew along side by side, and she remarked that she was grateful to me and the cannon and her husband. The affair had cured her of her agoraphobia. We fucked some more, to celebrate […]” (p.69)

Leave a Reply

